Call Now for an Immediate and Free Consultation
Evening and weekend appointments always available
Maryland: 410-844-0235
Toll Free: 866-697-0013

Bruce Robinson & Associates Legal Staff

Blog

What You Need to Know About Maryland Car Accidents

If you’ve ever been involved in an accident in Maryland, you probably know how complicated the process can get. If you have never gotten into an accident, congratulations! However, even with your perfect record you should be prepared in case something ever goes wrong. In today’s blog, we offer an overview of what you need to know about car accidents in Maryland.

maryland-car-accidents

There are certain laws about Maryland car accidents that you may not be aware of.

What You Need to Know About Maryland Car Accidents

Statute of Limitations

If you have been injured in a car accident and you would like to seek compensation, you’ll need to be aware of the statute of limitations. In the state of Maryland, you are allowed 3 years from the date of the accident to file either a personal injury or property damage lawsuit. Regulations differ based on what state the accident occurs in so if your accident occurred in another state, be sure to research the statute of limitations in that jurisdiction.

 

Contributory Negligence

Maryland is one of only a handful of states on the books that abides by contributory negligence. This means that if you are found to have contributed to the accident in any way then you cannot seek damages from the other party. For example, if you were t-boned at an intersection by someone turning left but it was found that you had been speeding, you would be unable to pursue damages for your injury.

 

Maryland car insurance laws

Insurance laws also differ from state to state. In Maryland, you are required to have certain levels of coverage that include $30,000 for the injury/death of a person, $60,000 for the injury/death of multiple people, and $15,000 for property damage. In the case that the person who caused your injury or property damage is underinsured, your car insurance policy includes UIM (uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage). This stipulates that in the case that the other driver does not have enough insurance to cover the damages you have incurred then your insurance will pay the balance.

 

MARYLAND CAR ACCIDENT ATTORNEY

If you have been involved in a car accident that was not your fault, please call Bruce Robinson & Associates. Your consultation with our trial lawyers is free and if we can help you, your case will be handled on a contingency fee basis, which means no out of pocket fee or expense to you. For a free consultation with our experienced trial lawyers, contact Robinson & Associates at 410.415.3841 or click www.marylandaccidentattorney.com today for your free consultation. We look forward to helping you!

 

Comments are closed.